Week 50?!?

Holy cow guys, it’s week 50! It’s almost the end of the year!

I wish I had a nice post with all sorts of pictures for you, but I do not. This week has been hectic as hell – our product at work launched worldwide, and there was some overtime associated with that, and then yesterday I went on several house tours, and then decided to put in an offer?! So that has been exciting and also stressful, and won’t be wrapped up for awhile yet if things go well.

I did find a few hours today to try that bust dart. First, I decided that there was an overall width problem, since where the center front hit at the top was well over the center line, so I took out the two inches needed to fix that in order to give me a better baseline for the bust dart. Then I fought with trying to figure out how to make a bust dart on a muslin and let the slashes let me know how big it needed to be, but even after I got it opened as wide as it needed to be, the side seams still weren’t sitting quite right. I finally, after slashing and tweaking and pinching things to hell and gone, decided that I just need a break from this pattern. I’m still excited about this jacket, but I think I’m going to find another pattern for it, possibly one with princess seams to make my life a little easier.

My lining swatches from Mood came (I think they had come before my last entry, but I hadn’t checked my mail), and they are beautiful – here they are all lined up on the confetti tweed:

Tweed + lining options

I would really prefer to use the dark blue one if I can – I absolutely love contrast lining, and that one picks up the blue in the tweed so well. My second choice would be pink because it will also pop. I grabbed the light blue and the beige just in case the darker colors bleed in my dry cleaning test.

One of the perks of holding off on doing this jacket is that I have a lot of time to get that color test ready, haha.

Meanwhile, I still want to finish something else before the end of the year. I have the week between Christmas and New Years’ off, and yes I will (hopefully!) be busy with home inspection stuff and all that, but I should still have more time to do sewing! I have two flannel sheets I picked up at Goodwill with cute patterns on them, and I’m going to turn at least one of them into a pair of pajama pants. The Margot PJs from Tilly and the Buttons‘ book end about two sizes shy of where I need them to be, but I recently bought the pattern grading class on Craftsy, so it’s time to put that knowledge to work! Plus, you know, they’re pajama pants. Nobody is gonna see them but me.

Goals for next week:

  • Grade up the Margot pattern
  • Cut out fabric

Leave a comment