Week 11: Pattern alterations and socks

I am still fighting that stupid cold, but at least my schedule has freed up a bit.

Sewing

I went at the front of that cardigan pattern like Edward Scissorhands this week, enough so that I thought I’d actually post the alterations:

001

It’s a shame I didn’t quite catch the left edge. Great composition skills there. So that addition at the bottom is the original four-inch lengthening that I did to get the waistline to the right point while I was at my mom’s. Because I also needed to lengthen the armscythe, I decided to split the difference and add 2 inches at the armscythe and turn the 4 inches into 2 at the lengthen/shorten line. Hopefully that doesn’t come back to bite me in the ass. I added the same amount to the sleeve and redrew the sleeve cap to match, so I don’t think I’m missing anything there, but I’ve never really had to alter the sleeve substantially before, so… *fingers crossed*

I sort of guesstimated how much wider it needed to be to adjust for the bust, and went with another even 2 inches, because why not. But I didn’t want to affect the shoulder seam length, so I wedged it out and cut through that section above the lengthen/shorten addition and going to the side seam, which you can see has overlapped those a bit. I also couldn’t quite get the shoulder seam 100% closed up and keep the pattern flat, so I went ahead and redrew the seam where it naturally fell when everything was nice and flat.

Lastly, I didn’t want to add two inches to the back in order to make the side seams match, and I didn’t think I was quite safe to slice through my addition and close it all the way up at the side seam, so I reduced it down to 7/8s of an inch, and then added that to the back piece as well.

This is kind of a lot of pattern adjustments and I’m way more nervous about them than I sound, haha. I’m sincerely hoping that because it’s all in knit fabric, it should be forgiving of the fact that I’m estimating numbers all over the place and barely know what I’m doing.

Knitting

I am really close to that toe decrease point. Every time I try the sock on to check it looks like four more rows, but I’ve done “just four more rows” three times now, haha.

002
Who doesn’t love a manila envelope?

I’m counting this goal as “achieved” because yeah, it’s super close. And I have a whole lot of yarn left! I’m pretty excited to weigh the socks and the yarn when both are done and see if I can squeeze another pair out of it.

Goals for next week:

  • Finish the socks
  • Cut out fabric
  • Start sewing? I don’t even know what the first step is, but hopefully I can at least finish step 1 from the instructions before Mass Effect comes out on… crap, tomorrow night? Um….
Leave a Reply

